Koka2 The 2kon Newsletter Issue 2:  Saturday Afternoon Hugo Nominations Best Novel (334 nominations for 183 novels)   q   A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen) q   Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson (Avon)   q   Darwin’s Radio by Greg Bear (HarperCollins UK; Del Rey)   q   A Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge (Tor)   q   Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling (Bloomsbury; Arthur A. Levine/Scholastic Press) Best Novella (191 nominations for 58 novellas)   q   “The Astronaut From Wyoming” by Adam-Troy Castro and Jerry Oltion (Analog 7-8/99)   q   “Forty, Counting Down” by Harry Turtledove (Asimov’s 12/99)   q   “Hunting the Snark” by Mike Resnick (Asimov’s 12/99)   q   “Son Observe the Time” by Kage Baker (Asimov’s  5/99)   q   “The Winds of Marble Arch” by Connie Willis (Asimov’s 10- 11/99)   Best Novelette (168 nominations for 130 novelettes, six nominees due to a tie)   q   “Border Guards” by Greg Egan (Interzone 10/99)   q   “The Chop Girl” by Ian R. MacLeod (Asimov’s 12/99)   q   “Fossil Games” by Tom Purdom (Asimov’s 2/99)   q   “The Secret History of the Ornithopter” by Jan Lars Jensen (F&SF 6/99)   q   “Stellar Harvest” by Eleanor Arnason (Asimov’s 4/99)   q   “1016 to 1” by James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s 6/99)   Best Short Story (189 nominations for 158 stories)   q   “Ancient Engines” by Michael Swanwick (Asimov’s 2/99)   q   “Hothouse Flowers” by Mike Resnick (Asimov’s 10-11/99)   q   “macs” by Terry Bisson (F&SF 10-11/99)   q   “Sarajevo” by Nick DiChario (F&SF 3/99)   q   “Scherzo with Tyrannosaur” by Michael Swanwick (Asimov’s 7/99)   Best Related Book (167 nominations for 74 books)   q   Minicon 34 Restaurant Guide by Karen Cooper and Bruce Schneier (Rune Press)   q   The Sandman: The Dream Hunters by Neil Gaiman and Yoshitaka Amano (DC Comics/Vertigo)   q   Science Fiction of the 20th Century by Frank M. Robinson (Collectors Press)   q   The Science of Discworld by Terry Pratchett, Ian Stewart, and Jack Cohen (Ebury Press)   q   Spectrum 6: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art edited by Cathy and Arnie Fenner (Underwood)   Best Dramatic Presentation (304 nominations for 106 dramatic presentations)   q   Being John Malkovich (Single Cell Pictures/Gramercy Pictures/Propaganda Films) Directed by Spike Jonze; Written by Charlie Kaufman   q   Galaxy Quest (DreamWorks SKG) Directed by Dean Parisot; Story by David Howard; Screenplay by David Howard and Robert Gordon   q   The Iron Giant (Warner Bros. Animation) Directed by Brad Bird; Book by Ted Hughes; Screenplay by Brad Bird and Tim McCanlies   q   The Matrix (Village Roadshow Productions/Groucho II Film Partnership/Silver Pictures) Directed by Andy and Larry Wachowski; Written by Andy and Larry Wachowski   q   The Sixth Sense (Spyglass Entertainment/Hollywood Pictures) Directed by M. Night Shyamalan; Written by M. Night Shyamalan   Best Professional Editor (203 nominations for 66 editors)   q   Gardner Dozois (Asimov’s Science Fiction)   q   David G. Hartwell (Tor/Forge; Year’s Best SF)   q   Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor Books; Starlight)   q   Stanley Schmidt (Analog Science Fiction and Fact)   q   Gordon Van Gelder (St. Martin’s Press; Fantasy & Science Fiction)   Best Professional Artist (196 nominations for 103 artists)   q   Jim Burns   q   Bob Eggleton   q   Donato Giancola   q   Don Maitz   q   Michael Whelan   Best Semiprozine (168 nominations for 38 semiprozines)   q   Interzone edited by David Pringle   q   Locus edited by Charles N. Brown   q   The New York Review of Science Fiction edited by Kathryn Cramer, Ariel Hamion, David G. Hartwell, and Kevin Maroney   q   Science Fiction Chronicle edited by Andrew I. Porter   q   Speculations edited by Kent Brewster   Best Fanzine (195 nominations for 94 fanzines)   q   Ansible edited by Dave Langford   q   Challenger edited by Guy H. Lillian III   q   File 770 edited by Mike Glyer   q   Mimosa edited by Nicki and Richard Lynch   q   Plokta edited by Alison Scott, Steve Davies, and Mike Scott   Best Fan Writer (191 nominations for 147 fan writers)   q   Bob Devney   q   Mike Glyer   q   Dave Langford   q   Evelyn C. Leeper   q   Steven H Silver   Best Fan Artist (164 nominations for 101 fan artists)   q   Freddie Baer   q   Brad Foster   q   Teddy Harvia   q   Joe Mayhew   q   Taral Wayne   John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (110 nominations for 72 writers) Sponsored by Dell Magazines.   q   Cory Doctorow (2nd year of eligibility)   q   Thomas Harlan (1st year)   q   Ellen Klages (2nd year)   q   Kristine Smith (1st year)   q   Shane Tourtellotte (2nd year)